But when are we seriously going to get our act together on this time travel thing?

Happy 5th of July! Hope everyone had a nice and fun 4th and didn’t end up burned to a crisp like I did. That’s what I get for falling asleep outside in direct sunlight with no sunscreen on. Sigh. I never learn. So today is painful. Like walking, is hard. Not so much a fan. And although today would probably be another great pool day, I think I’m going to skip that today. Also, if you saw the weather this morning or look online it literally just says “Oppressive.” I’ll stick with air conditioning thank you very much.

I don’t really know what got me thinking about the topic of this blog, but I thought about it a couple days ago and my crazy imagination just went to town. Basically here’s the deal. Back in the 80s and 90s like how many movies were made about having the ability to time travel? Roughly a million (*that may not be a factual statistic hard to say). But seriously, Back to the Future? Right? Like we are supposed to have the technology to time travel by now. And I think it is simply criminal that we don’t! We have figured out how to have a car parallel park itself and developed innovations like the “Pizza Pizzazz” but we can’t like figure out time travel? Really? That’s appalling.

Now I’m not talking just simply “turning back time” like in Harry Potter. I mean that would have been nice too but all those time turners were destroyed at the Ministry of Magic so we are out of luck there. No, I want like full out going back into a totally different era. As a kid I always fantasized about living in different time periods. Coupled with my obsession with the “Dear America” books, “Magic Attic Club”,  Oregon Trail, and American Girl dolls I thought about this allllllll the time. So I have lots of stories that I made up as a kid of me living in different centuries, different countries, etc etc. And now, at 24, I think its time something is done about this!

Think about it. How cool would it be to go back to the Medieval Ages or be a Pilgrim or a crazy flapper girl of the 20s? And the weird part is, I don’t even want to go back to “just the good parts.” I want to know what it was like living through the depression. I want to experience growing up in the 1800s and working all day. I want to walk across the country to Oregon for the possibility of a new beginning. Not saying the good parts are a no go, just saying I really wish I could experience it all. And while I can read all I want about history, it could never compare to knowing that feeling, that experience of truly living a different life.

The point is, I am not smart and so I need someone with actual intelligence to start making me a time machine. And make it snappy. I personally don’t think enough of our resources are going towards time travel research. Like, maybe we could take a break on improving cell phones and focus on a time machine for a bit? Maybe? I think people would be happier. And its educational soooo I am not understanding why this isn’t a priority. Since I’m such an important person I’m sure the government is on the edge of their seats waiting to see what I’ll say next, so as soon as they see this they will get right on my time machine. But if they are “too busy” or whatever I challenge anyone else to make me a time machine. I will let you ride in it! I just think that its 2013 and it is practically unbelievable that we can’t time travel. I want to change that. Well, I want someone else to change that so I can benefit from it. Really, I’m just looking out for people everywhere.

Hopefully next time I’ll see you we could ACTUALLY party like its 1776!

2 thoughts on “But when are we seriously going to get our act together on this time travel thing?

  1. After reading this I must say I am so into this, I would totally go with you. It sounds very Quantum Leap to me… which I was also a fan of in addition to the Magic Attic Club, the Oregon Trail, and American Girl.
    I would also love to know what it was like to live in the high times of Rome, London during the Industrial Revolution… and New York in the 1960s. When you figure this out give me a shout out 🙂

Leave a Reply

