If you don’t like books don’t read this

…..and also you are practically dead to me. But regardless, the following is a list of books I’ve read recently/within the past year that I absolutely recommend to anyone who likes to read. And I do this only because I love sharing wonderfulness I find in books/movies with the world!! Also now next time someone asks me for a book suggestion they may refer to this list! Soooo here are some books for a snow day like today, books I believe that we should be required to read AS HUMAN BEINGS.

1. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

yes Gone Girl was the one that got all the hype (and I did like that book quite a bit too!) but I don’t think nearly enough credit has gone to her two earlier novels. Dark Places is my favorite. I find it more mysterious and thrilling, scary and captivating than Gone Girl. Definitely not a “beach read” but an excellent psychological thriller.

2. Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline

I honestly did not know about this part of history and it is horribly fascinating and makes for a damn good book. A very nice combination of historical fiction and the present foster family system.

3. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Do you like dogs? Do you like to laugh out loud? Do you miss the days of picture books? This book is for you.

4. January First by Michael Schofield

A  definite must for anyone interested in mental illness, it is written by the father of an 8 year old girl with schizophrenia. Fascinating! You may have seen them on a special on Discovery Health/TLC/other channels “Born Schizophrenic.”

5. The Glass Castle  by Jeanette Walls

So interesting! If you think your childhood was difficult, read this and then be really thankful that you did not have her childhood. I am amazed that the author and her siblings made themselves into something out of literally nothing. I really don’t think I would have been so strong. The tenacity of children is quite remarkable.

6. The Night Circus  by Erin Morgenstern

My only advice would be that if you choose to listen to this on audiobook, DO NOT under any circumstances, start this when you are alone at night because Track 1 slash the entire little intro section is just the creepiest music ever and it probably should not have been the last thing I heard before I went to bed that night. Just saying. Other than that, excellent 🙂 I want to go to The Night Circus, I’m going to believe in it’s magic and that it’s still out there…..

7. Fellow Mortals by Dennis Mahoney

When I read the back cover all I really saw was that it was about a postal worker or something and I was like umm sounds weird but I was going to read it for a book club because the author is actually from my area so yeah. ANYWAY. Point is, it is WAY more than a book about a postal worker. It is a story of love and loss and trying to make up for ones mistakes. And while it is primarily from the point of view of the mailman, I love that the author also includes everyone else that was affected, even the dog. And not in a cheesy stupid ‘oh the dog is talking now’ kind of way. Very well done.

8. Once We Were Brothers by Ronald H. Balson

There is really nothing I can say, that will do this book any justice. I will say (and this is absolutely true, not an exaggeration) I was physically unable to put this book down. The one time I did put it down because I was forced to, because I was supposed to be at work (dumb), all I did for the next several hours was talk about the book. I have not been THAT captivated by a book since the final Harry Potter book came out. So, we know I mean business! haha

I could seriously write at least 10 more and I am not pleased that I only gave y’all 8 (because 8 is not a great number but I’m doing exposure AH #teamanxiety #winning!) but I know that no one probably cares. Because we all have different tastes! So you may not like any of these! But if you find one you like, I’ll feel that my job is done.

READ ALL THE BOOKS EVER ❤ Kelly

IMG_1751

There is nothing better….

p.s. I realize that there seems to be (with one clear exception) a theme in this list of fairly dark/serious/emotional books and I do want people to know that I do read fluffy shit too. And all other kinds of books. I’m not just like this weird dark and twisty evil book lover. At least, I don’t think I am…..

2 thoughts on “If you don’t like books don’t read this

  1. I love Allie on Hyperbole. She makes me laugh till I cry.

Leave a Reply

